Schools Reopened In 8 States and 1 Union Territory Amidst COVID-19 Pandemic

New Delhi: Schools in 8 states and in 1 union territory reopened on Monday for class 9 to 12 on a voluntary basis maintaining all the guidelines issued by the center after a gap of 6 months, since March, due to COVID-19 pandemic.

The eight states and one union territory include Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Haryana, Jammu and Kashmir, Meghalaya, MP, Nagaland, Himachal, and Sikkim that reopened schools partially although Gujarat, UP, and Chhattisgarh are against the view of reopening schools amid this pandemic as they feel it might increase the number of positive cases and risk children.

However, Bihar is to publish SOPs (Standard Operating Protocols) and is yet to take decisions on reopening schools today.

All other states are uncertain whether to reopen schools during the pandemic or not while a number of them have postponed the process and others are still planning what to do next.

The Central government has restricted regular classes in schools as per the Unlock 4.0 guidelines. A maximum 50% staff including both teaching and non-teaching is allowed.

Students of only class 9 to 12 are given permission to go to school for any kind of help from the teachers.

“All schools to continue to remain closed till September 30. Students of classes 9 to 12 may be permitted to visit their schools, in areas outside containment zones only, on a voluntary basis, for taking guidance from their teachers. This will be subjected to the written consent of their parents/guardians and will be permitted with effect from September 21 for which, SOP will be issued by the Health Ministry to be followed by the schools”, according to the Delhi Government.

About the author


TL Bureau

Leave a Comment