Easwaran Ton Guides Bagan To Season’s First Trophy

Easwaran Bagan First Trophy
Picture credit: CAB

Kolkata: Abhimanyu Easwaran hit a classy unbeaten ton (167*) in the CAB First Division One Day tournament final as Mohun Bagan beat Bhowanipur Club by six wickets to emerge champions at the JU Second Campus ground on Tuesday. This is the mariners’ first trophy of the season.

In reply to Bhowanipur’s 288/8 in their quota of overs, the Mariners chased the target down with 13 balls to spare.

Picture credit: CAB

Earlier, Bhowanipur got off to a solid start thanks to their openers Abhisek Das and Abhshek Raman who added 104 runs for the opening wicket. Spinner Writtick Chatterjee sent Raman back when he was on 52 to give Bagan the breakthrough.

Abhisek continued his good form with the bat smashing another ton of the tournament as he scored 100 off 101 deliveries before being caught by Ayan Bhattacharya off Jesal Kharia.

Jesal bagged 3 wickets and Sourav Mondal claimed 2 as Bagan bowlers didn’t let Bhowanipur batsmen to free their arms.

Picture credit: CAB

While chasing Vivek Singh was sent back to the pavilion by Bhowanipur pacer Mukesh Kumar off the first ball and from there Easwaran showed off grit and skill to stich two big partnerships with experienced campaigners Sudip Chatterjee and skipper Anustup Majumder.

Easwaran’s 167 not out came off 144 balls crafted with 15 boundaries and 2 sixes while Sudip hit 40 and Anustup smashed a 67-ball 62.

About the author


TL Bureau


Leave a Comment