Assembly Elections: BJP Keeps Assam, LDF Kerala

Kolkata: The Assembly election results in 4 states and one Union Territory have thrown up 3 upsets while the ruling parties will retain the power in 3 states.

The ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) was voted to power for the third time with a huge margin.

On the other hand, Tamil Nadu is set to see a change of guard after 10 years as Stalin-led DMK, is certain with a clear majority pushing the ruling AIADMK far behind. In the 234-member House, DMK was leading in 153 seats and AIADMK in 79.

In Kerala, the CPM-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) is also on course to grab power. Congress-led Democratic Front (UDF) was leading in 89 constituencies while UDF was ahead in 44 seats in the 140-member Assembly. The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) was ahead in 1 seat.

BJP, however, will be in power in Assam and Union Territory, Puducherry. The BJP-led NDA is in clear majority in 79 seats while UPA is ahed in 46 seats in the 126-seat Assembly.

In 30-member Puducherry Assembly, the NDA was ahead in 15 seats and UPA in 10, as per latest trends.

About the author


TL Bureau

Leave a Comment