West Bengal Assembly Election Results 2021 Live: Mamata Banerjee Defeated

West Bengal Assembly Election 2021 Results
Picture credit: ANI

Kolkata: Mamata Banerjee led the incumbent Trinamool Congress (TMC) to a landslide victory with the party already winning 215 seats, but with a spot of bother that the party supremo has lost her own seat from Nandigram to Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Suvendu Adhikari.

Mamata-led Trinamool Congress almost had a cakewalk in West Bengal, where the BJP was seen growing in power since the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

Mamata was also trailing in Nandigram by over 8,000 votes, against her ex-aide turncoat Suvendu Adhikari when early trends emerged, but again managed to go on the lead later.

Counting of votes for the West Bengal Assembly elections began at 8 am on Sunday amid strict COVID-19 protocols. Votes are being counted for 292 seats in the 294-member Assembly.


About the author


TL Bureau

Leave a Comment